Lâghava: (dexterity, swiftness, lightness, thoughtlessness, disrespect) to lose one's value because of a d h a r m a. Also called cowardice.

Lakshmâna: brother of R â m a who went with Him into the wildernis at His exile. Is considered an incarnation of S a n k a r s h a n a.

- Spelled Lakshmanâ: Name of a wife of K r i s h n a and of a daughter of D u r y u o d h a n a who each were kidnapped by K r i s h n a and S â m b a at their s v a y a m v a r a (see 10.83: 17; 10.68.1).

Lakshmî: or the goddess of Fortune; the eternal female companion of the Lord in His N â r â y a n a -form, with which he resides in the V a i k u n t h h a-worlds.

- Other names for her are: S'r î: the beautiful one and R a m â, the wife, the splendor, the fortune and K â n t i, the female beauty, the brightness of the moon.

- Also the name used for money engaged in devotional service.

Liberation: normally is this term understood as referring to escaping the stingent laws of nature (of birth, disease, old age and death) or also (with the m â y â v â d î s) the identification of oneself with B r a h m a n, in which one wants to destroy the ego through unification with the Absolute Brahman (which should be considered an unrealistic approach).

- The ultimate liberation consists of the restoration of the original bond that binds us eternally to the Absolute, namely K r i s h n a, the Supreme Lord (see also s v a r u p a, s v a d h a r m a and m u k t i).

Lîlâ: the transcendental game, the pastime, the adventure of the Lord.

Lîlâ-avatâras: countless incarnations like M a t s y a, K û r m a, R â m a and N r i s i m h a sometimes called kalpa-avatâras since they appear in each k a l p a, who descend in the material world to unfold the pastimes of the Personality of Godhead (see a v a t â r a, l î l â).

- "There are also lîlâ-avatâras, and these include (1) C a t u h s a n a (the K u m â r a s), (2) N â r a d a, (3) V a r â h a, (4) M a t s y a, (5) Y a j ñ a, (6) N a r a - N â r â y a n a, (7) K a r d a m a K a p i l a, (8) D a t t â t r e y a, (9) H a y a s' î r s' â, (10) H a m s a, (11) D h r u v a p r i y a, or Pris'nigarbha, (12) R i s h a b h a, (13) P r i t h u, (14) N r i s i m h a, (15) K û r m a, (16) D h a n v a n t a r i, (17) M o h i n î, (18) V â m a n a, (19) B h â r g a v a  P a r a s' u r â m a, (20) R â g h a v e n d r a ('chief of the R a g h a v a s' or R â m a), (21) V y â s a, (22) P r a l a m b â r i  B a l a r â m a ('enemy of P r a l a m b a'), (23) K r i s h n a, (24) B u d d h a and (25) K a l k i" (Caitanya-caritâmrita, Madhya lîlâ 20:244 Purport).

Linga: the subtle body; that part of one's being that is taken to one's next life, it contains the person in his material identifications and mind (see 4:29).

- Mind, intelligence and false ego in one (7.2:47).

- One of the sixteen forms S' i v a is worshiped by according the sixteen elements to obtain the opulence belonging to that element. Formerly 12 principal S' i v a -lingas existed, but the number of lingas in India is estimated at 30 millions .

- The linga, also as a symbol of the male phallus, is in stone in combination with a y o n i from which he then rises worshiped as the union of the cosmic energy in the culture of S' i v a (see also t a n t r a - y o g a).

- A mark, spot, sign, token, badge, emblem, characteristic; a symptom, mark of disease; having anything for a mark or sign; any assumed or false badge or mark, guise, disguise,a proof, evidence; a sign of guilt, corpus delicti; the sign of gender or sex; the image of a god, an idol; the invariable mark which proves the existence of anything in an object as in the proposition "there is fire because there is smoke"; inference, conclusion, reason; anything having an origin and therefore liable to be destroyed again.

- The crude base or uninflected stem of a noun; an indication, a word that serves to fix the meaning of another word.

- The order of the religious student.

Lobha: greed, possessiveness, avarice (see a n a r t h a s).

Logic: see n y â y i k a.

Loka: planet, star, world, abode. Divided in fourteen: five higher ones, one of the atmosphere, the earth and seven lower ones.

- Tri-bhuvana: the three worlds of heaven, hell and purgatory.

- In three the worlds of the earth, the atmosphere and heaven: Bhûr, Bhuvah Svah.

- Svah: The five celestial worlds: S v a r l o k a, M a h a r l o k a, J a n a l o k a, T a p o l o k a, and S a t y a l o k a.

- Bhuvarloka, the areal region, the atmosphere, the life-force.

- Bhûrloka or earthly regions, the middle, madhya or martyalokas including the seven lower, âdo, viz. Pâtâla, Rasâtala, Atala, Vitala, Nitala, Talâtala, Mahâtala en Sutala (see S.B. 2-5:36-40; 2-1: 26-39 and 11.24: 11-14).

- S i d d h a l o k a, the place of no return beyond the first three where the ones of perfection go to.

- In seven they are: bhûh, bhuvah, svah, mahah, janah, tapah and satya. Their invocations are called vyâhritis (see 12: 6: 44).

- C a i t a n y a M a h â p r a b h u by His mercy promotes the most fallen souls of K a l i - y u g a to beyond these planets and even beyond V a i k u n t h h a, to the supreme planet of Lord K r i s h n a in the spiritual sky, called Goloka V r i n d â v a n a.

- 'A b r a h m a c â r î who practices celibacy perfectly in some particular stage of his life achieves M a h a r l o k a, and one who perfectly practices lifelong celibacy achieves J a n a l o k a. By perfect execution of v â n a p r a s t h a one may achieve T a p o l o k a, and one in the renounced order of life goes to S a t h y a l o k a' (pp. 11.24.14).

Lokâyatikas: ('a man experienced in the ways of the world') a group of philosophers related to the Buddhists, who were present at earth when K r i s h n a spoke the B h a g a v a d - G î t â.

Lotusfeet: of P â d a, feet. One says that K r i s h n a, has lotusfeet to indicate that:

1) His feet will never leave K r i s h n a l o k a, that has the form of a lotus.

2) His feet look like lotuspetals.

3) The soles of His feet are red and on top of that show the mark of the lotus.

4) The beauty, softness, freshness of His feet reminds one of the same qualities as that of a lotus.

One also says that K r i s h n a, but also His expansions and pure devotees, representing Him, have lotusfeet, to indicate that, like the lotus that within the water is never wet, they, although being in touch with m â y â, are never contaminated by the material energy. In that context the term refers to the protection of the Lord, the refuge one seeks in spiritual need.


Search the Lexicon  


Sanskrit Dictionary


S'rîmad Bhâgavatam | Bhagavad Gîtâ | Nederlandse versie


Feed-back | Links | Downloads | MusicPictures | What's New | Search | Donations